

Magis Awards - Semester One, 2019

Rory Hewson: Introduction at the Awards Breakfast

Rory: The John XXIIII College Magis Gifted and Talented program has continued to develop considerably in 2019. New programs including the Julie Arliss Philosophy programme and Notre Dame's Cultural Decoding have been added, five academic Seminar Breakfasts have been held, Internal John XXIII College competitions and challenges including Public Speaking, Academic Spelling, Mental Maths and Creative Writing have been held, and the College has competed in major WA Gifted and talented competitions including Da Vinci Decathlon at University of Western Australia, Creative edge Challenge at Curtin University, Western Australian Debating Schools' competition at Christchurch and the World Scholar's Cup Perth Round at Sacred Heart. We have had record numbers of John XXIII College teams in each of these, and some excellent results as you will see as awards are presented. There have also been over 20 teachers assisting with the Magis program, and we thank them for their dedicated service to our students.



Magis Awards Semester One 2019

Academic Spelling

Year 12	Year 11	Year 10	
1. Rory Hewson 2. Cullen Binet	1. Shaun Raj 2. Ben Linsten 45	-	
Year 9	Year 8	Year 7	
1. Natalie Ong 30/30	Rob Brigg	Jonathan Hie	
2. Noemhi Boehl	Tiffany Cesare	Gemma Bailey	

Mental Mathematics

Year 12	Year 11	Year 10
1. Rory Hewson 2. Samuel Falzun	1. Ben Linsten 2. Lorian Marshall	1. Grace Barbour 2. Bella Pether
Year 9	Year 8	Year 7
1. Natalie Ong 29/30 2. Sophie Chew	=1 James Mitchell 29/30 Rob Brigg 29/30 Yvette Rigg 29/30	1. Maya Mintz 29/30 2. Jonathan Hie

CREATIVE EDGE CHALLENGE at Curtin University



Creative Edge

Akash Parekh, Nick Brennan, Bella Pether, Charlie Richards





Da Vinci Awards – all certificates plus winners certs

Year 7	Year 8	Year 9
Gemma Bailey Maddie Boley Jasmine Boog Jonathan Hie Sarah MacFarlane Maya Mintz Bella Samson Angela Williams	Jack Brett Rob Brigg Nicolas Carrello Ann Cullity James Mitchell Angus Sapsworth Daniel Doran Jenna Whiston	Also Cartography winners Noemi Boehl Sophie Chew Genevieve Fergusson-Allen Keeva Kirwan Natalie Ong Alice O'Sullivan Bella Boley James Green
Year 10	Year 11	
Grace Barbour Ben Negus Isabella Pether Olivia Eastwood Oscar Hegge Akash Parekh Caitlin Green McKenzie Richardson	Nick Brennan Aerin Chai Ben Linsten Lorian Marshall Dominic McCLeary Melanie Gamble Alex Panther Emily Tyson	

Da Vinci Creative Producers' Winning team (Year 11)

Public Speaking Awards

Year 12	Year 11	Year 10	Year 9	Year 8	Years 7
1. Rory Hewson	1. Lorian	=1.Cailtin Green	=1. Genevieve	1. Yvette Rigg	1.Massimo
2. Charlie	Marshall	Alex Somlyay	Fergusson-Allen	2. Mia Dowdall	Torre
Richards	2. Nick Brennan	3. Bella Pether	=1. Alice	3. James	2. Maya Mintz
3. Xavier Carr	3. Ben Linsten	Eve Cullity	O'Sullivan	Mitchell	3. Joe Stephens
				Daniel Doran	Maddie Boley



Creative Writing

Trophies + 2nd and 3rd certificates

Year 7	Year 8	Year 9	Year 10/11
 Massimo Torre Maddie Boley Luke McLernon Jasmine Boog 	 1. Tiffany Cesare 2. Yvette Rigg 3. Seb Raj 	 Alice O'Sullivan Elinor Webster 	 Alex Somlyay Caitlin Green Grace Barbour



World Scholar's Cup Number indicates Gold Medal Winner

Year 7	Year 8	Year 9	Year 10	
Kiera Fong	Daniel Doran 1	Natalie Ong 2	Oscar Hegge 1	
Bella Samson 1	Ann Cullity	Bella Boley 3	Caitlin Green 1	
Megan Cleary	Spencer Burchett	Genevieve Ferguson- Allen 5	Olivia Eastwood 1	
Hannah Johnson 2	Yvette Rigg 3			
Maddie Boley 2	Ruby Kaye 1	Alice O'Sullivan 1	Isabella Pether 1	
Maya Mintz 1	Robert Brigg 1	James Green 1 Elinor Webster	Eve Cullity 1 Nikki Halverson	
Sarah Lazareski	Nicholas Carrello 1			
Jonathan Hie	Angus Sapsworth		Skye MacMillan 1	
Sarah MacFarlane	James Mitchell 2		1McKenzie	
			Richardson 1	
Luke McLernon 1			Gabriel Kaye 3	
Geordie Strickland				
Jacob Davila				



World Scholar's Cup Special Certificates

Outstanding Team Senior: Oscar Hegge, Caitlin Green, Olivia Eastwood Outstanding Junior Team: Genevieve Ferguson-Allen, Bella Boley, Natalie Ong

World Scholar's Cup Trophies:

Outstanding performer Senior: Gabriel Kaye Outstanding performer Junior: Genevieve Fergusson-Allen

Service Awards for keynote addresses at Magis Academic Seminar Breakfasts

Public Speaking seminar: Rory Hewson and Charlie Richards

World Scholar's Cup Seminar: Ben Linsten, Emily Tyson, Alex Panther, Skye MacMillan