

mentone girls' secondary college

2022 Presentation Evening

7pm, Wednesday 30 November 2022 Nina Carr Theatre

> Mentone Girls' Secondary College 175 Balcombe Road, Mentone Vic 3184 www.mgsc.vic.edu.au

Thank you to the Parents and Friends' Association for their generous support of the students' awards.

Prelude Symphonic Band conducted by Wendy Harvey

Order of Proceedings

Welcome

Detta Gordon - Assistant Principal

Official party

Linda Brown, Principal Carol Duggan, Assistant Principal Detta Gordon, Assistant Principal Geri Sumpter, College Council President Amanda O'Hara, Director of Middle School Tess Molina, Director of Junior School Tara Graves, Guest Speaker (Class of 2017)

Principal's Address

Linda Brown - Principal

Community Award Presentations

Year 11 and Year 10 Award Presentations

Performance

Symphonic Band conducted by Tim Veevers Prelude and Firestorm - Roland Barrett

Guest Speaker

Tara Graves

Year 9 and Year 8 Award Presentations

Performance

All Star Choir/Madrigal conducted by Wendy Harvey The Voice of the Sea - John Williamson/Jared Haschek

Year 7 Award Presentations

Evening concludes

About the Awards

The Principal Award

The student with the overall highest results in most subjects in the year level throughout the year in formative and summative assessment.

Academic Excellence

Acknowledging students who have worked to achieve outstanding academic results in multiple subject areas over the course of the year.

Subject Awards

For consistently producing outstanding academic results throughout the year in this subject based on reports, CATs, learning tasks and teacher judgements.

College 'Work' Award

For the student with the most improved academic performance during the year in a range of subjects.

College 'Courage' Award

For the student who consistently displays a commitment to the school and its community.

Sport Award

For outstanding performance throughout the year in Inter-school and House sports.

Performing Arts Award

For outstanding commitment and performance throughout the year in Performing Arts.

Community Awards

Names read by Linda Brown Presented by Detta Gordon

2024 Kwong Lee Dow Young Scholar Ella Bennett (Year 10)

Australian Defence Force Future Innovators Caitlin Hughes (Year 10)

Australian Defence Force Long Tan Youth Leadership Olivia Ayyuce (Year 10)

Australian Defence Force Long Tan Youth Leadership Trixie Sumpter (Year 12)

Australian Defence Force Future Innovators Cassidy Jackson (Year 12)

> Ampol Best All Rounder Isobel Long (Year 12)

Year 11 Awards

Names read by Carol Duggan Presented by Linda Brown

Elloise Prior The Principal Award College 'Work' Award **Candice Prior** College 'Courage' Award Scarlett Wells Academic Excellence Karli Doak Academic Excellence Jessica Nguyen Academic Excellence **Iona Rogers** Academic Excellence Stuti Suthar Academic Excellence Lucinda Tallar-Villegas Academic Excellence Annabelle Stacey Academic Excellence Veronica Wilson **College Sport Award** Jemmah Paton Performing Arts Award Louise Thomas

> Year 11 students Top Student awards in a Unit 3 & 4 subject Names read by Carol Duggan Presented by Sylvia Christopoulos

Accounting Japanese Lola Boaden Rayna Hosking

Year 10 Awards

Names read by Amanda O'Hara Presented by Carol Duggan

The Principal Award Lucy Webster College 'Work' Award College 'Courage' Award Academic Excellence Academic Excellence Academic Excellence Academic Excellence Academic Excellence English Humanities Health/PE Maths Science Japanese French Technology Visual Arts **College Sport Award Ruby Lyons** Performing Arts Award

Luella Corderoy Sammy Roberts Jemimah Stewart Millie Howard Ella Bennett Isabelle Newell Jade Weir Ella Bennett Olivia Ayuuce Mia Linford Ella Bennett Ella Bennett Matilda Renkin-Onwuji Annie Edwards Jemimah Stewart Madelyn Top

Matilda Renkin-Onwuji

Year 9 Awards

Names read by Amanda O'Hara Presented by Geri Sumpter

The Principal Award College 'Work' Award College 'Courage' Award Academic Excellence Academic Excellence Academic Excellence Academic Excellence Academic Excellence English **Humanities** Health/Physical Education Maths Science Japanese French Technology Visual Arts **College Sport Award** Performing Arts Award

Gabrielle Taylor Alyssa Righetti **Erin McClements** Ava Collins Caitlyn Shawel Milla Dragutinovic Mizuki Roche Sophie Fouweather Bianca Mistretta Alexandra Snodgrass **Trinity Barrow** Caitlyn Shawel Ava Collins Mizuki Roche Gabrielle Taylor Milla Dragutinovic **Tess Simmons** Pippi Brailey

Erin McClements

Year 8 Awards

Names read by Tess Molina Presented by Detta Gordon

The Principal Award College 'Work' Award College 'Courage' Award Academic Excellence Academic Excellence Academic Excellence Academic Excellence Academic Excellence English **Humanities** Health/Physical Education Maths Science Japanese French Technology Visual Arts **College Sport Award** Performing Arts Award

Raga Khan Bhaduri Alex Ivanoff Madeleine Lewis Madelyn Lust Mary Nguyen **Tenaya McCarthy Ruby Faranda Claudia Short** Demah Farhan Ali Corbett Sascha Haar Yan QU Raga Khan Bhaduri Raga Khan Bhaduri Alice Whiteside Elsa Yu Karlee Chamberlin Grace Patten

Mona Walker

Year 7 Awards

Names read by Tess Molina Presented by Tara Graves

The Principal Award College 'Work' Award College 'Courage' Award Academic Excellence Academic Excellence Academic Excellence Academic Excellence Academic Excellence English **Humanities** Health/Physical Education Maths Science Japanese French Technology Visual Arts **College Sport Award** Performing Arts Award

Sienna Prince Milla Higginson **Ruby Sumpter Bridie Elliott** Ishani Thenahennadi Abigail Brittain Molly Zeng Ava Rose Ishani Thanahennadi Lois Crawford **Imogen Hawkins** Molly Zeng Bridie Elliott Sienna Murphy **Bella Cooper Rose Forbes** Ishani Thenahennadi Madison Ryan

Tabitha Truscott

Year 12 Awards

Unit 3 & 4 subjects Presented at the Class of 2022 Valedictory Dinner

Art	Alex Laszlo
Biology	Charlotte Brookes
Business Management	Zoe Nesci
Chemistry	Ashley Hill
English	Trixie Sumpter
English	Sarah Bensberg-Corcoran
English as an Additional Language	Alice Xu
Environmental Science	Tilde Verhoeven
Food Studies	Katelyn Randall
French	Chloe Jones
Further Mathematics	Abigail Wallace
Health and Human Development	Amberley Powell
History: Revolutions	Molly Farrer
Legal Studies	Sarah Bensberg-Corcoran
Literature	Charlotte Brookes
Mathematical Methods	Stacey Alexandris
Media	Amberley Powell
Music Performance	Sabina Eyre-Walker
Physical Education	Trixie Sumpter
Psychology	Georgia Macmillan
Sociology	Zoe Nesci
Specialist Mathematics	Monica Thai
Theatre Studies	Isobel Long
Visual Communication Design	Siena Pidd



empowerment - inclusivity - creativity - achievement